Founding Chairs

Latha Chandran, MD, MPH, MBBS

Teri Turner, MD, MPH, MEd


Task Force Members

Constance Baldwin, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics
Founding Director, Educational Scholars Program, Academic Pediatric Association
University of Rochester Medical Center
School of Medicine and Dentistry

Michelle S. Barratt, MD, MPH
Professor of Pediatrics
UTHealth/McGovern Medical School

Donna M. D’Alessandro, MD
Professor of Pediatrics
University of Iowa

Su-Ting Li, MD, MPH
Professor of Pediatrics
Associate Vice Chair of Education
UC Davis School of Medicine

Jennifer O’Toole, MD, MEd
Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Internal Medicine
Program Director, Internal Medicine, Pediatrics Residency Program
University of Cincinnati College of medicine/Cincinnati Children’s Hospital

Sajani Tipnis, MD
Assistant Dean
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
The University of Mississippi Medical Center School of Medicine

Academies Collaborative Liaison and Partner  (review and selection of applications)
Alisa Nagler, JD, EdD, MA
Co-chair of the Academies Collaborative Steering Committee
Assistant Director for Accreditation, Validation and Credentialing
American College of Surgeons

NADEP enhances the visibility and prestige of pediatric educators across all academic institutions in the US, and support the national educational community. An honorary service academy, NADEP, recognizes national experts in pediatric education, using a rigorous selection process and creating a program of consultation, mentoring, and speaking activities. These distinguished educators serve in the following roles:

  • Topic experts for consultations/visiting professorships at academic institutions
  • National peer reviewers for educational credentials of pediatric faculty, including helping educators who are preparing for promotion, or promotion committees that need expert reviews.
  • Mentors/coaches for junior faculty with shared areas of interest.
  • A think tank to set future directions in pediatric education.

Service Activities: 

To be decided by the inaugural class of Distinguished Educators in Pediatrics.